Menu plan

Do you menu plan? I can’t live without muy menu plan. I have been menu planning fornightly for years. I used to plan weekly, but I just hate supermarket shopping. I tried monthly, but kept leaving items out and having to go back to the shops for one or two items.

I find it a drag when I sit down to write out a menu plan for the fortnight. It all becomes worth it when 5pm arrives every evening and I don’t have to think about what to cook. I customise my menu plan to make things easier for nights when there are after school activities, and for some early meal prep during the day when I am not so rushed (and don’t have a toddler clinging on to my leg!).

This photo was taken in the gorgeous sunshine we had this week. I get out a few cookbooks, and work my way thorugh them. I also have a folder of firm family faves. My favourite books are by Bill Granger. I have all his books. Unlike other chefs, I find I can cook all his recipes without disaster (not so for Jamie Oliver’s recipes).  I try to spread out the meat, vegetarian, fish and chicken meals to a few each week. I shop once a fortnight and twice weekly for fruit and veg. Do you menu plan?

One thought on “Menu plan

Leave a Reply

