Goodness overload

I visited Daylesford with a friend recently to attend the Daylesford Craft Experience. I hadn’t been to Daylesford before. It is a lovely town, with many fabulous shops that stay open over the weekend. The town was very busy, and although we were at the Craft day all of Saturday, we managed to visit a Trash and Treasure Stall, Thread Needle, Purls Palace, Lark, the Daylesford Bazaar, a book store, the Mill antique store, and the Makers Market. Phew! The Craft Day was wonderful, and I received some great patterns I can’t wait to try out. I made a start on a scarf and small stitchery. Such a lovely weekend sans children. 

The Mill antique store was enormous, and we happily wasted away an hour and a half. I bought a few old Enid Blyton books to add to my collection. At Lark I bought some goodies, including a great vegetarian book “Martha Goes Green” whose recipes are featuring heavily in my menu plan this month. I try to include two no meat meals a week in my menu planning, both the reduce the amount of meat in our diet, and to reduce the expense of meat in our diet. I’ll keep you posted on the success of the recipes!

 

I finally found the perfect shelf for a book nook! My simple white shelf was found at the Daylesford Bazaar, which I have read about Allison’s Lark blog.  It never did make it to the space intended though, as I claimed it for my sewing room. It is nicely settled in with my collection of Enid Blyton books and my new Kokeshi dolls from Kyo.

The IKEA shelf I had in my sewing room was moved into the playroom to create a little book nook which was put into use immediately.

At the beginning of the school holidays we visited Warrnambool to go to the Fun 4 Kids Festival. This is an amazing festival and fabulous value for kids. There are more activities and events than you can possibly attend in one day. Highly recommended! We stayed with family where we caught up on news, how big my baby niece has grown, and generally chilled out.

I am using the winter sun to hyper overheat the sunroom to about 25 degrees, then sit in there in the afternoons and work my way through some recent indulgent book purchases:

The Crafty Kid by Kelly Doust

Plenty: Eating Locally on the 100-mile diet by Alisa Smith and J.B. Mackinnon 

The Handmade Marketplace: How to Sell Your Crafts Locally, Globally and Online by Kari Chapin

At Home: A Short History of Private Life by Bill Bryson

Weird Wabbit and Friends: How To Make Cool Stuff from Felt by Vasanti Unka

I Love Patchwork: 25 Irresistible Zakka Projects to Sew by Rashida Coleman-Hale

Peppermint Magazine – Issue 5

There ends the link love folks! Off to actually read some of these books now, while my active toddler has his 1/2 hour nap.

One thought on “Goodness overload

  1. How the heck did I miss you at The Craft Experience??? I was there on the Saturday too. I guess I missed you in the 98 other people :o)
    Come check out my blog,
    Abbe (yes, as is Michaela’s mate!)

Leave a Reply

