Fig Jam

My Dad was in town on Thursday night, and delivered more fresh produce for us to preserve. A bag of beetroot, a bunch of rhubarb, a bag of fresh figs, and a box of apples. They are all very much appreciated. The apples will be stewed and also dehydrated, the rhubarb has been baked and scoffed with custard. The figs were made into fig jam, and tomorrow I will pickle the beetroot.

I used the Fig Jam recipe from a treasure of a book Mum picked up for me, “Fowlers Method of Bottling Fruits and Vegetables”. This is the Twenty-Third edition, reprinted in 1967. The recipes are in pounds and ounces. I regularly use old recipes in these measurements, and have a trusty conversion table from imperial to metric printed out and stuck on my pantry door.

I use recycled jars to bottle my jam. I also use Jamsetta by Fowlers Vacola. I wash and heat the jars, wash the  lids, and dry out and heat the jars in a 100 degree oven for at least 20 minutes. I carefully pour the hot jam into the hot jars using a metal jug and screw down the lids. I use jars with pop-down lids, so I can tell if they have sealed or not. If the “poppers” do not pop down, just store the jam in the fridge rather than in a dark cupboard and use these jars first. I have jars of jam in my cellar which are at least 3 years old, so jam will keep for a while. Jam makes a perfect gift, especially with fresh homebaked scones.

Leave a Reply

