Birthday storage + book reviews

It was my birthday last Monday, so last weekend Jamie and I went looking around some antique stores (sans children) and went out to lunch. I needed this for my sewing room.

From this:

 To this:

I also got the fabulous book The Creative Family for myself by Amanda Blake Soule of Soule Mama. I am only a few chapters in, but I am loving the ideas in here. Ella is already into making her own softies. Today she made a snake, cat and jellyfish from fabric, thread, sticky tape and staples. Amanda is a very inspiring woman. I love her insightful writing and all those gorgeous photos.

I am also reading The Crafter’s Companion which I borrowed from the library – it is full of inspirational crafters and projects. I like the sneak peeks into other people’s studios, and spend time sighing over all the colour and creativity in the lives of others.  

I liked what Loobylu had to say about the book The Boss Of You. Along similar lines I have read Craft Inc. However, with a new addition on the way, a home business to run already, and 10 acres to wrangle, I feel now is not my time to start my dream business. Although, I am always on the lookout for new opportunities. I went to a clairvoyant this time last year, who told me that I am ambitious and any business I put my hand to will succeed, so I should just go for it. Encouraging words, but it seems like my “get up and go” got up and went!

 

Leave a Reply

